Madhava Units of Study

Madhava Units of Study
(each unit covers 8 – 10 weeks)
Year One

Devotional Practices –Part One

This basic course explains why we do the things we do. Chanting, wearing tilak, Vaisnava dress, Deity worship, offering arati and offering obeisances are taught in a way that young children can appreciate.

Who Am I?

A beginner’s course in the Bhagavad Gita, teaching the children that we are spirit soul, the eternal servants of Krishna.

Srila Prabhupada

An overview of Prabhupada’s life and mission is explored. Students focus on Prabhupada’s early life, initiation and move to America.

Cow Protection and Vegetarian Living

The importance of the cow and bull in society, present mistreatment of cows, and the need for cow protection are taught. The presence of souls within all living beings, our physical indications for vegetarianism and offering food to Krishna are also presented.

The Appearance of Lord Jagannatha

Students complete a wall display depicting the events leading to the Lord’s appearance in His Deity form. Includes many art projects to enhance understanding.


Year Two

Vaishnava Behavior

Students gain the tools for making good friends, seeing the good in others, viewing Krishna as our best friend, worshipping Krishna together, and respecting others. Temple etiquette is also taught.

Animals in the Vedas

This session teaches about great devotees of the Lord in animal bodies, including Garuda, Gajendra, Hanuman, and Jatayu. Instructions and patterns for many crafts are included.

Lord Chaitanya’s Childhood Pastimes

The birth, purpose for appearance and several childhood pastimes of Lord Chaitanya are covered.

The Adventures of Lord Rama

The transcendental pastimes of Lord Ramachandra and His intimate associates are narrated.

Festivals of India – Part One

Students learn of the cultural and spiritual significance of 5 well–known festivals. They learn the way the holy days were traditionally celebrated and work together on various activities to celebrate their own “mini-festivals.”
Year Three

Devotional Practices – Part Two

Students enjoy a story about two boys discovering Krishna consciousness, and in the process, learn about (and experience) offering arati, gurupuja, tulasi puja, Ekadasi, fire yajnas and preaching.

Das Avatar (see sample lesson)

The stories of the ten principal incarnations of Krishna are told, with students making an art project depicting the avatars.


The reason for prayer, types of prayer and putting prayer into daily life are taught. Students make individual booklets of Gajendra, the elephant, and his well-known prayer.

Pilgrimage to Vraja Mandala

Students take a spiritual voyage throughout many of the holy places of Vrindavan. Many pastimes of Krishna are related as they travel to Nandagram, Javat, Bharshana, Mathura and other holy places.

Festivals of India – Part Two

Following the same format as Part One, students celebrate Balaram’s Appearance Day, Janmastami, Radhastami, and Prabhupada’s Disappearance Day.